Mango

Published April 9, 2014 by tapasmi

Mango

The wintery spring has glided away and the warm days of summer slowly march forward here in India. Yes! Summer has just started and started putting all sorts of pleasant summer thoughts in our mind. Shining stars, running around, welcoming the birds, and gorging on the yummy fruits of the warm season!
In a couple of weeks the markets will be in rage for all kinds of juicy luscious Indian mangoes, and so I wrote a kind of funny-ish poem about them- from the view point of the fruit itself!
So let’s welcome the narrative from Mr. Mango: ……

I am a little mango
fleshy and yellow
I am the most tasty
fruity little fellow.
I have a very big heart
that you see when eating me
Don’t thank me (or your tongue)
Thank the seed of the mango tree.
I may be quite tiny
But to taste buds I am kind
Of me there are many
All are easy to find.
If you’re sweet in your heart
To all people you meet
I’ll be yummy in your tongue
Either tangy or sweet.
I’m also strong because
When you peel of my skin
I don’t get at all hurt
Though it’s pretty thin.
Once peeling me is over
I very happily reveal
My yummy and pleasurable
Fruitful breakfast meal!
Then pass five minutes
Your mouth filled with joy
The juicy, fleshy layer of fruit
You shout out: “Oh Boy!”
You know the juice dribbles
Down upon your chin
But I am so delicious
That just isn’t a sin.
And when that done
All remains is the seed
I’ll then live your tummy
Having done a tasty deed.
But that little left seed
Can be planted with care great
And once more a tree will pop on up
For me to be in your breakfast plate!

6 comments on “Mango

  • Leave a Reply

