Paddy-Paw and the Tale of the Turtle

Published May 28, 2014 by tapasmi

Hello friends! Hope you like this little story of Paddy-Paw’s silly antics, and how he is out-smarted yet again by a smart little turtle. ENJOY! 😀

PRESENTING PADDY PAW….
paddy paw blog piuc AND TURTLE….blog turtle

Paddy-Paw was a child jaguar. He was a bit silly. He was also a bit of a glutton, and so his mother gave him some instructions so that Paddy-Paw’s tummy could be satisfied when it was not.
“Paddy-Paw, Paddy-Paw, now you listen to me
Keep your eyes and ears open so you can hear and see.”
And so Paddy-Paw listened and opened his ears and eyes.
“Now, Paddy-Paw, you are a lovely little child, and I don’t want you to be hungry. So I am telling you how to satisfy that tummy of yours. First, whenever you see a prey, don’t let the prey see you. When he does, talk to him, softly, and be nice to him. If there is anything you can do to make him tastier, do it. When you feel it is the time, eat him,” she said knowledgably. “I am going away for a few days, so you have to get your own food. Be well!” and she cuddled him and went away.
Paddy-Paw was having mixed signals. He felt very responsible but also a bit scared. He had never caught his own food before! But he wanted to make his mummy happy, silly though he was, and so he gave it a try. He didn’t want to go up and look for some animal, though. But he needn’t have worried- opportunity came knocking on his door- literally!
He heard a knock on his door, and realised it was snowing quite heavily. Then he saw a little turtle who was shivering. Remembering his mother’s words, he quickly hid behind.
The turtle raised his eyebrows. He was very intelligent, and thought it was pointless for Paddy-Paw to hide when he had clearly seen him. “I saw you,” said the turtle. Paddy-Paw foolishly jumped back.
“Oh, did you?” he asked, his voice dripping with sweetness. Probably realising who stupid he sounded, he spoke a bit normally after that. “What’s wrong, my friend?”
“The weather, it is horrible! Please let me in for shelter! I’ll probably die with cold,” replied the turtle ruefully.
Paddy-Paw was about to say no, but remembered in time he was supposed to be kind. He agreed.
As soon as the turtle was in, he locked the door. He said evilly to the turtle “YOU ARE CAUGHT!” The turtle was horrified. But his wits came to his rescue. “Oh, you clever soul! But please let me stay for three days, so you can feed me and fatten me up before you eat me!”
This seemed like quite a good plan to Paddy-Paw. He glared at the Turtle. “Okay. But only three days, mind you! On the fourth day I shall gobble you up.”
The next three days the turtle received beautiful treatment. When the turtle had given Paddy-Paw the idea of fattening him up, Paddy-Paw did! He gave him the most delicious things to eat. The turtle enjoyed them thoroughly and kept asking for more, giving the excuse that he wanted Paddy-Paw to feel happier when he ate him!
Both the turtle and the jaguar waited excitedly for the fourth day of the turtle’s visit. As soon as the turtle woke up, the jaguar confronted him. “YOU’RE DINNER!” he cried.
The turtle instantly jumped up. “Yes, Jaguar sir,” he said respectfully. “But as for you to enjoy me, I must go have a bath, for who likes to eat a mouldy-smelling turtle?” Paddy-Paw agreed, and showed him the way to the bathroom. But the turtle shook his head. “To make myself taste really good, I must bathe in the Pure River first, which is in front of your house. Please, may I go there?”
Paddy-Paw remembered that his mother told him to make his prey as tasty as possible, so he gave the Turtle permission to bathe in the Pure River. As the jaguar didn’t like to swim, he didn’t accompany him. And so the turtle vanished into the depths of the river and Paddy-Paw waited, and waited, and waited. It wasn’t long before he realised the trick played on him and he realised his folly.
“Oh, I lost my dinner because of my stupidity,” he said, clutching at his fur. “I’ll never be silly again!”
Poor old Paddy-Paw! I doubt he will ever lose his silliness, though!
the end

One comment on “Paddy-Paw and the Tale of the Turtle

  • Oh My God! This story reduced me to three drops of laughter and nothing else plus a bag of fatty chips acids! And a half-eaten Subway ham and three choco cookies! And a pound of poofy, poofy, poofy, poofy, air!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Forgive me for those strange words. AHEM! I request you not to waste your time and try to understand the meaning of them, as they make no sense WHATSOEVER. I am just frigging crazy that way. :I But I guess all I am trying to say is this:

    YYYOUUU AAARREEE AAAAAWWWESSSOMMMMEEEEE! Like, how do such marvellous ideas even come to your braid? WHOWAOJOSOAJSOAJP!

    Don’t try to understand that either. Its nonsense. 😀 🙂 😐 :blush:

  • Leave a Reply

