An Incident Which Taught Me To Never Give Up | Poem

Hi! So I was given an oppurtunity by my school teachers to submit an essay or poem on the topic in the title onto this CBSE website, so here is my submission!! Its a bit unlike my usual writing style but its always healthy to try something new 😉 Here it is!! (Based of a true story)

boomFrenzy and fervour-  spirit of competition flying high

Poetry competition in the school
Shall I win, lose, will it be a tie?

Excited budding poets like me
Waiting eagerly for the time
Hoping to prove our worth,
Wishing to shine!

But alas! A prefect duty cropped up
And I routinely had to rush off
By the time I could return
Contest was over- all was lost.

I went home teary – eyed and sad
I felt like my dreams had just shattered
But dear Mother showed me what truly mattered.

She told me that competitions
Would keep coming and going
But what was within me is what
I should have been showing

What matters in a person
Is never the given contest prize
But what she does to deserve it
And how much for it she tries.

So my spirits lifted and I wrote a poem
Not for a competition but for consolation of mine
Looking back at my memory
Its when my realisation did shine.

At the end of the day
To never give up I learned
It wasnt a prize as a trophy
But as a learning I earned.

2 thoughts on “An Incident Which Taught Me To Never Give Up | Poem

Leave a comment